Board of Directors

Colorado Cycling Political Structure

Colorado Cycling has been around since 1976, and while it has undergone a few changes, the basic structure has always remained. We are a membership organization. There are two types of members -- Clubs and Individuals. Politically, the ultimate authority in Colorado Cycling is the Club Council. Each Colorado Cycling club is a member of the club council, with voting strength determined by a combination of their number of members and the participation at events that the clubs promote. Every year there is the annual club council meeting. The club council is charged with the election of the Board of Directors, approval of the upcoming budget, approval of the schedule of fees, and approval of bylaw changes, if any. Indeed, their most important role is the election of the Board of Directors, as these directors set the course for Colorado Cycling and make decisions in between Club Council meetings. 


About the Board

Official members of the Board of Directors are elected by the clubs at the annual club council meeting each year. There are ten members of the Board of Directors, each serving two-year terms, with a stagger such that half of the terms are up each year.  They fulfill the responsibilities specified below, subject to the control of the Club Council, and may have other duties as shall from time to time be assigned to them by the President. All board members are members in good standing of Colorado Cycling. The Board makes executive decisions about many different aspects of Colorado Cycling operations. The Board also hires staff (currently the Executive Director and Membership Manager). The staff manages the day to day operations of Colorado Cycling.

To run for the Board of Directors, a candidate must be nominated by a Colorado Cycling club or by five individual Colorado Cycling members. This process usually begins in the fall of each year. If you wish to be nominated or to nominate someone, fill out the nomination form with the required signatures and return to the executive director at execdir@coloradocycling.org

In addition to elected members of the board, the board of directors may add appointed members from time to time as ex-officio board members to bring needed view points and skills to the board.



The President  functions as Chairperson of the Board of Directors and the Club Council.  In periods between meetings of the Club Council, the President may interpret the Schedule of Fees, Bylaws, and Constitution, with the consultation of the Board of Directors.  The President, along with the Executive Director,  is the official spokesperson for the organization. Their duties are include preparing the monthly agenda for the meetings of the Board of Directors, coordinating the racing schedule, developing/revising the annual budget, organizing the club annual meeting, procuring sponsorships, and any other duties as may be assigned. The President works with the Executive Director to ensure efficient functioning of the association.

The Secretary keeps and posts the agendas and minutes of all meetings of the Club Council, the Board of Directors, and any committees.

In the absence of the President, the Vice President has the authority to perform the duties of the President.

The Treasurer, along with the Executive Director, oversees the maintenance of the corporate financial records. The Treasurer monitors the monthly statements prepared by the Executive Director and reviews with the Executive Director the yearly financial report to the Annual Club Council.  (S)he oversees the keeping of the Association books and records, which is the physical duty of the Executive Director and insures that all records and accounts are correct.  The Treasurer attends all monthly meetings of the Board of Directors and delivers the financial report to the Board.

Directors at Large serve as representatives of the membership to the Board of Directors, and are assigned duties by the President or the Board of Directors.

Current Board Members

The current members of the Colorado Cycling Board of Directors are listed below. Click on their names to email them.


Andy Johnson (term expires in February 2023)


Vice President:

Jon Tarkington (term expires in February 2022)



Damon Brandt (term expires in February 2023)


Larry Potter (term expires in February 2023)

Directors At Large:

Melissa Langworthy (term expires in February 2022)

Chris McGee (term expires in February 2023)
Kim Nordquist (term expires in February 2022)
Joe Lewis (term expires in February 2022)

Glen Winkel (term expires in February 2022)

Tobin Behling (term expires in February 2023)

Erin Agee (appointed position)

Bill Plock (appointed position)

Derek Hall (appointed position)



Technical Committee: Marco Vasquez, Lynn Taylor, Jim Wong, Yvonne van Gent

Technology Committee: Damon Brandt, Melissa Langworthy, Jon Tarkington, Joe Lewis